An Open Letter to Nursing Home Staff

“All the world is made of faith, and trust, and pixie dust.”
― J.M. Barrie, Peter Pan

Granny
To you, the one giving of yourself emotionally and physically to care for those who can no longer stay home – I see you, I thank you, and I love you for what you do.

To you, the one who will be dressing and feeding and comforting my Grandma day and night – Please see her. Please know her. Please love her for the amazing person that hides behind her illness.

I write this to you partly as a plea in my own heart to trust. To trust the place she will now call home, to trust the care that she will now depend on outside of my own, and to trust you – the one she will grow to love and need and see everyday. The one who will become family not only to her but to us in so very many ways.

I write this to you partly as a hope in my own heart to have faith. Faith that the timing is right, faith for the way in which she will be supported and cared for, and faith that the trust being placed in the people she now depends on will be a blessing instead of heartache.

I write this to you partly as a dream in my own heart to still believe in the magic of fairy tales and pixie dust. My Grandma has always had one of the strongest faiths i have ever known, she trusted her faith and the decisions based upon it with her whole self and she survived the hard times with laughter, imagination, and childlike magic. She had her own kind of pixie dust in the hardest of times and I need to believe she will carry that with her to her new home.

Dear Nurse, Dear CNA, Dear staff…

Please hear me in my plea to remember who she is. Don’t let the trials of the day make you forget that she is there, she sees you, she hears you, and she knows how she is being treated.

I say this to you, because I know – I know this work and I know the heaviness that falls upon it sometimes.

I know just how mixed up the bureaucracy behind staffing and paying and leave can be.

I know how deeply unappreciated you can feel and how truly hard you work.

I know how long the days can get and how badly some days you just won’t want to be there at all.

I know how poorly you will be treated by family members who can’t seem to figure out how to grieve in a peaceful way or even sometimes by people who are simply unkind.

I know how constant the learning curve is in the world of dementia and Alzheimer’s, finding new ways to approach, relate, comfort and protect those in your care minute by minute.

I know how understaffed you will always be and how overwhelming that can feel.

I know how little you are paid and how much that can impact your sense of worth.

I know how hard you work to show dignity, compassion, and love even to those who make it very very difficult at times.

I know the combative nature of those you care for and the heartache you see on their faces daily.

I know how invested you become and how much you grieve when “your” resident passes.

I know…

I know there will be moments when your patience is gone.

I know there will be times when human emotions over ride scope of practice and find you on the verge of overstepping ethics.

I know there will be minutes when taking a deep breath to keep calm won’t feel like enough in the face of unimaginable and illogical opposition to the simplest of daily tasks.

I know there are seconds when the temptation will rise to mistreat someone who is pushing you past your breaking point.

And I know that those moments are fleeting in between hours and hours of love and empathy and excellent care – but I am certain those moments are there.

Please hear me in my plea to look in her eyes when the hard overcomes you and see past the disease to the person who lays beneath.

Please hear me in my plea to listen to her broken words and desperate calls when you are walking the fine line of overstepping and hear her heart and her kindness that’s just behind her fear.

Please hear me in my plea to walk away when you have passed the point of peaceful deep breathing and call on the help of your co-workers to step in and be a new person in the face of a lost mind.

I have walked in your shoes in private home care, nursing home care, and in my own family care. I have witnessed the moments where the job becomes just too much, I have felt the intensity of emotion that has left me calling for help in order to keep my own composure, and I know just how incredibly exhausted you are when your head hits the pillow at the end of the day.

I ask you to help me trust this new home by loving my Grandmother when she is in your care. I ask you to help me have faith in what I know is sometimes a broken system, that she will not slip between the cracks of stress and emotion. I ask you to help me keep the pixie dust alive and help her to find joy and magic even in this new lonesome space she will live her final days.

I write this to you with great gratitude and respect for the profession you have chosen, and I write this to you as a reminder that even in the mundane daily tasks of brief changes and dinner feedings, outbursts and tears, you will remember where these people came from, who they were before the disease, and why – like you – they are so worthy of respect, dignity and love.

Sincerely,

Caregiver, CNA, Doula,  and Granddaughter who really, truly knows.

14 thoughts on “An Open Letter to Nursing Home Staff

  1. Kristen I do so admire you. What you have written here should be given to every health care provider, nursing care facilities, and private care places – and particularly to the administrators of those entities. You are so spot on in what you have said. Prayers and blessings on you and your entire family.

    Like

  2. Thank you for your amazing for words. I always try my best and it is encouraging that others can understand and you worded it so elegantly.

    Like

  3. What a beautiful letter! I was a nurse in an extended care facility and I loved all my patients as family as well as their family. Thank you again for this beautiful letter.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It is such a wrenching task to turn over the care of someone you love so dearly to people you don’t know-yet. You will, though. They will love your grandma-my friend, colleague, “partner-in-crime”, just as you do. They will come to know her likes and dislikes, her routines and rhythms, what makes her peaceful and what agitates her, just as you have.
    The staff at Grandvue is exceptional. They have cared for my husband’s mother for more than three years now, and we are both so grateful for not only the excellent care she has received but also for the caring. That’s the part that makes the difference. Courage, Kristin. To you and to your Grandpa. It will be best for all. Never easy, but for the best.
    You have done a selfless and remarkable job of seeing your Granny along the way. Now someone else will help her along. Your energy, compassion, and wonderful way of staying in the moment are inspirational. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

    1. Dearest Kristin; your thoughtful words inspire and support not only those in the position to care for their loved ones but also for those watching from the sidelines. Your Granny is one special lady who greeted and cared for and taught her students as if they were her own children. May you find your own comfort knowing she will receive wonderful care and may all your visits with her be peaceful ones. Sending you love for peace and energy on this journey called life.

      Like

  5. Wow, so well said Kristin. Anyone that has been in those shoes understands. Health concerns may differ but the letter you wrote is spot on. Know, you have made a difference for your whole family. Be assured that your care was needed and blessed.

    Like

  6. Holding you in my thoughts, this is so tough and counter-intuitive to relinquish someone you love so well, and deeply to the care of another. Your family is in my prayers. Well done good and faithful granddaughter. Love cannot be stolen by this dreadful disease. 💞

    Like

  7. So beautiful. You are such an amazing person. Your granny is very blessed to have you. I think this letter should be printed and given to not only homes but hospitals. We will be praying for you all.
    Love Heather

    Like

  8. Your letter is so true and all caregivers should appreciate your thoughts because we all felt the same in our daily work I read often about caregivers I
    and the most amazing thing in life
    r always helping some in need is satisfying I was a cna in geretics for years just loved it

    Like

  9. Dear Kristen; first and foremost I want to thank you for your extremely thoughtful and in-depth understanding of the most dreadful time we all face in our futures, the time when we have to make the decision to relinquish our care for our loved ones and place them in the care of strangers who will supply their every need. It is so difficult, especially as a health care worker these days, we know about short staffing, rigorous daily routines, staffers who are burned out and those that are just not nice. But under the light of God there are just as many of us caregivers that love the elderly, take every moment to make them comfortable, don’t rush them just because breakfast is over, read to them or just sit and hold their hand with encouragement, take them to Sunday service if they want to go, show them the flowers growing in the garden in the court yard. Don’t fret dear Kristen, your Granny will be fine…….she will be loved, respected and understood, just as if it was you holding her hand.
    I want to say that my whole career was dedicated to newborns and the elderly, whom I loved so very much.
    God Bless you and your family….

    Elaine Stefanick
    Retired R.N.
    Saskatchewan

    Like

  10. 1st an amazing heart felt letter. I myself work in a senior living community, and love to be surrounded by them. And your right I grieve too w
    hen they pass away. I hope that where your loved one is, that they love and cherish her as much as you do. Im sure I would.

    Like

  11. I worked for Hospice, giving personal care to my patients. I loved them dearly. I cried when they passsed. Some years after tetiring, I had full care of my husband. I had to fall back on my training when he passed away in the hospital and I had to drive myself home. He passed 10 months ago. I sit here alone and think about my life. Working with Hospice is the one thing I enjoyed doing.

    Like

Leave a comment